if(typeof window !== 'undefined' && window.location.hostname === "fr.sailgp.com") { }

WATCH: Bermuda eSailGP Qualifier Final full replay

21 APRIL 2021News

The 2021 eSailGP Championship is now in full swing with the first Qualifer Final of the season taking place on Thursday.

Broadcast live with host Shay Thompson and expert commentators, Japan SailGP Team stars Nathan Outteridge and Leo Takahashi, the Bermuda eSailGP Qualifier Final saw eight competitors go head-to-head bidding to book their place in the Grand Final.

Seven nations were represented by some of the world's best esailors - who qualified as the eight highest ranked players in the Qualifer round - including current eSailGP Champion Mike 'Déjà Vu' O'Donovan.

And O'Donovan started his championship defence in perfect style, beating Spanish sailor Agustin-LDLN in the winner-takes-all match race to qualify for the Grand Final.

Despite failing to top the leaderboard in any of Thursday's three fleet races, O'Donovan ranked second in the overall table behind Agustin - real name Agustín Costa Rey - and got the better of his opponent in the match race.

Despite winning the start, sailing the shortest distance and recording the best maximum speed, Agustin suffered a serious penalty on the first reach which set O'Donovan up for his win.

You can watch a full replay of the Bermuda eSailGP Qualifer Final, below...

The 2021 eSailGP Championship comprises six qualification rounds, running alongside the SailGP Season 2 events, with the next Qualifer round on May 29/30 and next Qualifer Final on June 2 to coincide with the Italy Sail Grand Prix in Taranto.