if(typeof window !== 'undefined' && window.location.hostname === "fr.sailgp.com") { }

Gender Equity Initiative

Overview
SailGP has taken decisive action to create and implement a plan for female inclusion in the global championship, with immediate effect. In the short term, SailGP aims to fast-track the development of top female sailors to race on F50s and perform at the highest level.

Committee
The SailGP Women’s Committee was established in June 2020 to guide the initial integration process, and includes a cross-section of internal and external expertise:
Christy Cahill (global staff lead) // SailGP Chief Communications Officer
Carolijn Brouwer // Three-time Olympian; The Ocean Race winner
Lisa Darmanin // Olympic silver medalist; SailGP broadcast commentator
Maria del Mar de Ros // CEO, Spain SailGP Team
Emily Nagel // The Ocean Race participant; data analyst, Great Britain SailGP Team
Nathan Outteridge // Two-time Olympic medalist; CEO + helm, Japan SailGP Team

Guiding Principles

  1. Include female athletes in SailGP as quickly as possible; further delays will increase the experience gap
  2. Incentivize teams to include and train female athletes
  3. Ensure proper training opportunities are given to female athletes to enable early success
  4. Continue to improve the overall competitiveness of the league and parity of the teams

Season 2

  • As a starting point, SailGP will be adding one female athlete per team
  • All training will include six athletes onboard the F50s; new team members will rotate between observational and active roles
  • The gender equity initiative will be in its pilot phase for Season 2, during which time regular evaluation and adjustments will be made; next steps in 2021 are likely to include:
    • Practice racing and/or racing with females in the sixth position
    • Practice racing and/or racing with females in key positions
  • Additional development opportunities are being explored, including Moth training and/or racing and simulator use
  • A dedicated women’s manager will oversee the program, to be hired by January 2021

Selection Process

  • Approximately four females will be invited to a camp for each team, with 2-3 days of on-water programming utilizing foiling boats; note: costs will be covered by SailGP except travel to/from the camp location by invitees unless the camp is held outside of the participant’s home country, in which case a travel subsidy will be considered
  • 1-2 women will be selected per team for a two-week trial leading into the first event of Season 2 in April 2021; one female will become a full member of each team
  • Team members must commit to attend all SailGP events; exceptions due to Olympic-related commitments will be handled on a case-by-case basis

SailGP Selection Criteria
Qualifications

  • Multi-skilled, high-performance sailor with strong technical knowledge
  • International racing experience with a focus on Olympic and high-performance classes
  • World title at the youth level; national title at the senior level; and/or a continental, world or Olympic medal
  • Developed foiling ability preferred, including multihulls and Moth/Waszp or similar
  • Varied team exposure, preferably including in a 3-6 person environment
  • Peak physical fitness and athletic ability
  • Familiarity with data and analysis preferred

Qualities/Skills

  • Committed, passionate and driven with supreme work ethic
  • Confident team player
  • Adaptable and eager to learn
  • Demonstrated performance under pressure
  • Advanced communicator
  • Media training/experience preferred

Contacts
SailGP Women’s Program Manager: TBD
AUS: Olivia Hogan // ohogan@sailgpaus.com
DEN: Peter Wibroe // pwibroe@sailgpden.com
ESP: Alejandra Real // areal@sailgpesp.com
FRA: Bruno Dubois // bdubois@sailgpfra.com
GBR: Chris Draper // cdraper@sailgpgbr.com
JPN: Kazuhiko Sofuku // ksofuku@sailgpjpn.com
NZL: Anna Tuke // atuke@sailgpnzl.com
USA: Kimo Worthington // kworthington@sailgpusa.com