SailGP combines the greatest drivers and sailors in the world with the cutting-edge hydrofoiling F50. Racing close-to-shore on tight racecourses, SailGP’s 10 national teams go head to head for glory and have set a speed record of almost 100 km/h. From back to back champions Australia to newcomer team Germany, we profile the league’s 10 national teams.

Heading into Season 4, it’s Diego Botin’s Spain with the greatest work to do after finishing at the bottom of the leaderboard in Season 3 - beaten by Sebastien Schneiter’s Switzerland in its first season debut. It was also a season to forget for SailGP veterans the United States, which finished seventh overall - a definite decline from its third place finish in Season 2.

Season 4 // United States Sail Grand Prix Chicago // United States performs manoevure

Nicolai Sehested’s Denmark enjoyed multiple podium results across the season, but inconsistent results pulled the team back towards the bottom of the leaderboard, while Canada impressed in its debut season - clinching an all-important event win in Christchurch at the ITM New Zealand Sail Grand Prix.

Season 3 // New Zealand Sail Grand Prix // Canada celebrate win in Christchurch on F50

France enjoyed a spectacular rise to form across the season with driver Quentin Delapierre at the helm, but was denied a place in the Grand Final by Emirates Great Britain, led by sailing legend Ben Ainslie.

Season 3 // Emirates GBR // Hannah Mills at back of F50

It was an excellent season for runners-up New Zealand, led by Peter Burling and Blair Tuke, which firmly established itself as a top tier team after a shaky entrance to the league in Season 2. But Tom Slingsby’s Australia remains the team to beat after securing back to back victories across all three seasons.

Season 3 // San Francisco Grand Final // Australia with shoreline

Meanwhile, Erik Heil's German team is new this season and, after a solid debut in Chicago, could be the catalyst to a league upset.

Season 4 // United States Sail Grand Prix Chicago // Germany crew line-up

The 10-strong F50 fleet will next meet for battle at the Oracle Los Angeles Sail Grand Prix on July 22-23.